Skip To Main Content

News Details

Picture of both student athletes

The annual Athletic Awards Ceremony was held Tuesday in the auditorium and coming away with the Irondequoit High School Male and Female Athletes of the Year honors were Isaiah Ballard and Ella Brennan, respectively. Ballard was a star in football and basketball; Brennan was on the Section V champion girls volleyball team and was a basketball and lacrosse standout. Ballard plans to play football at defending NCAA Division III champion, SUNY Cortland. Brennan heads to Jacksonville University, where her sister, Maeve, also plays. Other special award winners and team MVPs are listed below. Congrats to all!!

THE MARK VIENNA AWARD celebrates student achievement in the classroom. This award is named in memory of a lifelong West Irondequoit teacher/coach and early 1980’s Athletic Director, Mark Vienna. It is awarded annually to six student athletes, three females and three males with the highest seven semester average throughout their academic careers in the category of one sport, two sport, and three sport athletes. Winners:

  • Natalie Pedersen (volleyball)
  • Dinlin Chin (tennis/Unified basketball)
  • Amelia Reidmiller (soccer/unified bowling/flag football)
  • Reid Wygal (Unified Basketball)
  • Carson Keller (soccer/golf)
  • Liam Kilminster (volleyball/golf/unified basketball)

THE SUPERINTENDENT LEADERSHIP AWARD is presented annually to student athletes who demonstrate exemplary leadership and participate in educational based interscholastic athletics. This year’s Superintendent’s Leadership Award goes to the following two students:

  • Amelia Reidmiller
  • Sam Crane

THE JIMMY DiVICO MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was created by Jimmy’s family and friends to honor his memory and assist a deserving student-athlete as they start their college career. Jimmy DiVico was a beloved 1983 IHS graduate who was tragically killed in a car accident in the summer of 1988 along with his new wife of just 2 months. Jimmy grew up as the eldest sibling in a large family and grew into a wonderful young man, working many jobs to support himself through high school, at the Rochester Yacht Club and many other places. He worked non-stop to make himself an impactful IHS basketball player, ultimately going on to play basketball at Westminster College and Geneseo. Jimmy did all this with a big smile and constantly found ways to help others. This scholarship was created to honor a student that embodies these attributes, as they go on to their college of choice, and adult life. The winner: Isaiah Ballard

THE SHAUN C. MORRISON SCHOLARSHIP ($1,000) was created in honor of Shaun Morrison. Lifelong resident and 2001 IHS graduate Shaun Morrison was a gifted student and competed in ice hockey and golf. He valued academic success, athletic excellence, humor, sportsmanship, volunteering and being of service to others. A natural athlete, Shaun won his first of several golf championships at age 16. He went on to graduate from the University of Delaware and then from John Marshall Law School in Chicago with his Juris Doctor. Shaun maintained his successful law practice in Palmyra and his love of sports until his sudden passing on October 17, 2020. This memorial is lovingly funded for each year by his friends and family. The winner: Sam Crane.

THE MAYNARD HALL AWARD is a coach’s award presented to seniors who have participated in two or more varsity sports and have demonstrated sportsmanship, a positive attitude, desire and effort:

  • Jordan Nolan – football, indoor track, lacrosse
  • Julia Jaeger - soccer, basketball, lacrosse

THE BLUE AND GOLD AWARDS ARE presented to individual student athletes who have participated in athletics for 12 consecutive seasons throughout their high school career. This year’s recipients:

  • Kailey Besio – Field Hockey, Basketball, Softbal
  • Cate Bondi – Soccer, Cross Country, Nordic Ski, Outdoor Track
  • Sam Crane – Soccer, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Golf
  • Zack Haight – Volleyball, Basketball, Indoor Track, Baseball
  • Jessica Pizzo – Cross Country, Indoor Track, Outdoor Track
  • Anthony Rizzo – Cross Country, Indoor Track, Baseball, Outdoor Track
  • Brandon Yanguas – Cross Country, Swimming, Indoor Track, Outdoor Track
  • Julia Jaeger – Soccer, Basketball, Lacrosse


  • Abiola Koumassou - cheerleading
  • Alley Armitage - girls tennis
  • Cam Freeman, Jordan Nolan, Isaiah Ballard, Serah Hall - football
  • Liam Kilminster - boys volleyball
  • McKenna Callari, Laney Flynn, Natalie Pedersen - girls volleyball
  • Taylor Burke - field hockey
  • Kayla Heister - girls soccer
  • Bailey Connor, Carson Keller, Tommy Gillett, Carraig Jones – boys soccer
  • Ruby Flanigen - girls swimming and diving
  • Luke Simon - boys cross country
  • Aubrey Smith, Lizzy Tytler - girls cross country
  • Colby VanOrden, Reid Wygal, Amelia Reidmiller - Unified Bowling
  • Joshua Ordway, Unified Bowling


  • Aubrey Smith - girls basketball
  • Quinn VanKerkhove, Isaiah Ballard - boys basketball
  • George Ligozio, Owen Simon - boys swimming and diving
  • Abiola Koumassou - Cheerleading
  • Cate Bondi - girls Nordic ski
  • Brandon Yanguas - boys indoor track
  • Shanell Miller, Lizzy Tytler - girls indoor track
  • Owen Callahan - wrestling
  • Elizabeth DiMartino -girls bowling
  • Donovan Robinson - boys bowling
  • Taylor Filighera, Sam Crane - ice hockey


  • Carraig Jones - baseball
  • Savior Pross - Colby VanOrden Unified Basketball
  • Thomas Flanigen - boys golf
  • Jonah Carrier, Cooper Moore - boys lacrosse
  • Ella Brennan, Ali Baumgartner, Maddie Thore - girls lacrosse
  • Laney Flynn - softball
  • Christian Zeitvogel. Finnigan Epping - boys tennis
  • Kayla Heister, Abiola Koumassou - flag football
  • Lizzy Tytler, girls track
  • Harper Capuano, Luke Simon, boys track